Operation: Border Patrol Tahoe '07

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

gmc8201

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
Here's my project. I purchased a government vehicle at a decent price, not knowing it was a border patrol vehicle. It has been a fun project before class starts back but I think I have run into some problems I need help with. I have purchased a repair manual and studied the body diagrams but since I'm a noob to this, I cannot figure how to attach the front bumper other than the 6 bolts on top and anchored into the side. There is no way to secure it on the bottom and it seems very flimsy. Is there an extra bracket on the bottom where it is secured on a regular vehicle? Heres a few pics of the bp tahoe and mine

Attachments

• cnpca12565-vi.jpg
    cnpca12565-vi.jpg
    76.7 KB · Views: 132
  • 3217521880_0670cc68eb.jpg
    3217521880_0670cc68eb.jpg
    33.4 KB · Views: 145
  • IMG_20110816_162555.jpg
    IMG_20110816_162555.jpg
    95.6 KB · Views: 142
  • IMG_20110816_162536.jpg
    IMG_20110816_162536.jpg
    95.3 KB · Views: 133
Last edited:
OP
OP
G

gmc8201

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
let me add by saying the skid plates are still there. If the bumper was sectioned off like the second pic, it would look just like that. The dealer just slapped on a bumper and sent it on its way

soulsea

Staff member
Administrator
Supporting Member
Reaction score
My bumper is different than yours so I'm not sure as to all the attachment points ... usually there's the bolts on top, the bolts under the fenders, and the wheel well clips.

I'm noticing the dealer didn't install the lower valance along with the bumper cover ... I'm wondering if he cheaped out or if there's a reason associated with the existing skid plate. :think:

OP
OP
G

gmc8201

TYF Newbie
Reaction score