no 2nd gear after rebuild, then no 4th after fixing

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

JackFox

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
1997 Yukon 5.7L 4WD 4L60E

Also, first gear and reverse slip. Reverse slips bad. First gear slips a bit than engages full after getting going. But let me go ahead and explain the entire situation.

So my brother's 1997 Yukon tranny gets noisy. I am a master ASE tech, working for myself. I don't rebuild, but figured I would try it out since I did do it in school (16 years ago) and we got youtube! No reason not to try. Did a ford tranny in an F150 2 years ago. Went well. So I go ahead and pull it, found no issue. Figured the noise was internal converter or the input shaft thrust bearing. Either way, that all got replaced. Did a deluxe kit from Remco. It had something burned up and the rest of the clutches were fine. Used to remember what was burned up.... but I forget now. Did the clutch apply tests through the valve body at about 40-50 psi on my air hose. Everything good. All clearances were within specification. Except the servo. Needed the longer pin. 1 ring for shorty. 2 rings for mid-pin (the usual size seen in stock units) and then the no-ring longer pin. SPec is .075"-.125" of movement as seen from the cover. I had a quarter inch. Good enough for a test drive though! Didn't have second gear. No pressure reading in my maxisys tool. Must be the pin. Took valve body down to go over my work, nothing wrong at all. cleaned it all up, packed the checkball spots with blue assembly goo with a ball in each. seven spots. eighth spot in trans (assembly goo VERY important now haha!) with balls 9, 10, and 11 in retainers. All balls g2g. OK. Cool. Reinstalled everything and pan. Take out servo. Half a seal falls out (omg lol) so that answers that no second gear thing. Install new vette pistons and longer pin. Now within