Blown Engine on My 98 hoe

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

ccvikes11

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
i Broke the camshaft on my 1998 tahoe, i need to replace the engine because noo one will touch it. what kind of engineshould i be looking for and what price range would i be looking at to get a resonably powerful engine for my offroad hoe.
Thanks for all replys.

07Burb

GM fan for life
Staff member
Administrator
Supporting Member
Reaction score
What's your budget?

OP
OP
ccvikes11

ccvikes11

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
not too much im a student so i could do somthing for about 1500-2500. im looking for a more used engine not a crate engine.

07Burb

GM fan for life
Staff member
Administrator
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Then I'd just locate another 98ish Hoe or Yukon that has been wrecked or something and swap out that motor but get one that you can hear run first so that you can verify it being good. These are all over Craigslist and would be your best bet on the cheap side of thing. You should be able to get a motor like this for around $500 to $800 depending on mileage.

OP
OP
ccvikes11

ccvikes11

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
Thanks for the help man ,ill look into craigslist. also
What would I need trip install it myself

07Burb

GM fan for life
Staff member
Administrator
Supporting Member
Reaction score

Are you fairly mechanically inclined and have a good set of tools? If not, I would suggest paying the professionals to do it.