Question about "breaking in" battery

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Grimes

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Posting this here because although it isn't FOR NBSs, it doesn't necessarily exclude them. Besides, few seem to check the Other Vehicles section :p

Anyway, my girlfriend recently inherited a neglected and abused 2007 Chrysler PT Cruiser. 67k, probably a little smoke damaged, hasn't been driven in 2 years and was poorly maintained in the years before that. Unfortunately I had to go back to school so could not help her out in person with getting it back up and running. My background is about to be vague, but that is because I haven't had any 1 on 1 with the car and couldn't even tell you which engine it is or the trim.

Relevant information: Battery is over a year old, but probably has less than a few miles on it. For the past 2 weeks it has required a jump to start. She got it to a shop today, and it passed inspection and their 10 point inspection turned up nothing. They said to give the battery time to "warm up" because of the lack of use.

My thoughts were, jump it a few times and be sure to drive it around a bit when you do, take a good stroll around town, and see how it is in a few days, especially as the weather warms. Not like jumping it will hurt. After that, if its still not cooperating, then drop a new battery in.

Has anybody ever heard of such a scenario? Thoughts on the battery? On that note, is there really a "break in" period for new batteries (boom, related to NBS)? Thanks for the help guys!

scoobyxj

Full Access Member
Reaction score