Rear Main Seal

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

diezelraccoon

Reaction score
Well something I have been dreading was the problem is the problem. My 03 Tahoe 2WD with the 5.3 has been leaking some drips of oil and discovered the rear main seal needs to be replaced. I love doing my own work but I just am not sure I have the skill set for this. I know the transmission needs to come out and I’ve never done that before and not sure if I even I have the right tools. I have a lot of tools but that just seems like a pretty heavy job. I’m usually pretty confident doing things but this not so much. I would love to achieve it especially to save money but not sure I can.

Is it really that hard?

strutaeng

Full Access Member
Reaction score
It's not that hard, but does take some grunt. I highly recommend a transmission jack and a helper.

The top bellhousing bolts are hard to get to. You can support the transmission with the jack, remove the crossmember, then slowly and carefully lower the tail shaft. Using some super long extensions (24"), you reach the top bellhousing bolts.

For reinstall of the rear main seal, I recommend you get the centering tool. I have the one by Sac City, but I think the others work just as well. I add a thin layer of permatex aviation sealant before installing it, but I don't think that's necessary. Torque the cover bolts to spec.

Last edited:

viven44

Reaction score
I haven't done this job on this platform but maybe some general comments

First... @strutaeng mentioned, having a good transmission jack.. I love the Horrid Fate (as some call it, haha) 450 lb manual transmission jack so much that anytime one of those come up (used once or twice) on Facebook marketplace for $50 or so,I grab it... They have so much utility. Nice to have about 2 of these suckers for a transmission....