1999 Tahoe, soft brake pedal

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

99brokeTahoe

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
My apologies if this problem has been addressed in another thread, I could find some close, but not the same. 1999 Tahoe, original problem was brake pedal would intermittently feel "notchy", like the ABS was actuating, but I know what that feels like, and this isn't it. Truck has 290,*** miles, and I have replaced a lot parts, but not a brake MC. Replaced MC with a NAPA MC, bled all 4 corners till the fluid looked good coming out, did the "dirt road ABS bleed procedure". Brake pedal felt better than it ever had, but problem with pedal feeling like it was binding, or hanging up, would still happen intermittently. So I replaced the booster with a NAPA booster. To me, brakes feel worse than they ever have. I'm not an engineer, but it's like the return spring in the booster is too strong, so you can't make the pedal move as fast down, but it has enough assist to go to the floor. Truck has almost everything new in the last year or 2, and the aftermarket booster has made the pedal feel soft to me. Truck will lock the wheels, and make the ABS work, but you can't do it as fast now, than you could have with the original booster. Guess I need to try a different brand booster? Any suggestions?

Matahoe

Full Access Member
Reaction score