Replacing lower intake gaskset

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

raptorforme93

Full Access Member
Reaction score
As some of you may know, it has been determined that my lower intake gasket has gone bad and needs to be replaced. My truck will be towed home from where I live at FSU 3 hours north. Over the Christmas break I will be replacing the gasket in the garage. This is my first time digging into this engine and I was wondering what all I am going to need to do this job? I know that a lot of people have done this and a little imput is appreciated! I want to be ready to fix the hoe when I get home! Am I going to need any special tools? Will this be a good time to replace some other commonly worn out parts? Any other fluids I should change besides the oil and coolant while im at it? I want to be as prepared as I can be before I start the project around Dec. 22nd I think. I will also be taking pics of the whole thing for everyone!! Thank you :)

ezdaar

Chat Troll
Supporting Member
Reaction score
its gravy work bud.
Only diffacult part you may have is re timing the engine. but thats easy aswell.
I can walk you through the entire procedure if you want.

07Burb

GM fan for life
Staff member
Administrator
Supporting Member
Reaction score
How did you determine it was for sure this and not head gasket?

ChrisAU

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Get a razor scraper. Also figure out a way to keep the manifold bolts organized; for me, I drew out the bolt pattern on a piece of paper and numbered them, then gave each bolt its own numbered baggy.

willxfs

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Maybe valve cover gaskets while you have everything on top apart.

ChrisAU

Full Access Member
Reaction score